Diverse Independent Board


SFI® Inc. is governed by the 18-member SFI Board, which sets SFI’s strategic direction and is responsible for overseeing and improving the internationally recognized SFI Program and SFI Standards. The Board’s three chambers represent environmental, social and economic sectors equally.

SFI Board members include executive-level representatives of conservation organizations, academic institutions, aboriginal/tribal entities, family forest owners, public officials, labor and the forest products industry. This diversity reflects the variety of interests in the forestry community.



Board members representing the environmental sector, which includes non-profit environmental or conservation organizations:


Board members representing the social sector, which includes community or social interest groups such as universities, labor, family forest owners or government agencies:



Board members representing the economic sector, which includes the forest, paper and wood products industry or other for-profit forest ownership or management entities:
Robert Abernethy
President, Longleaf Alliance
Karla Guyn

CEO, Ducks Unlimited Canada

John M. Hagan III
President, Manomet
Jonathan (Jon) Haufler
President, The Wildlife Society and Head of the Ecosystem Management Research Institute
Gail Wallin
Co-Chair of the Canadian Council on Invasive Species

Executive Director, Invasive Species Council of British Columbia
Mark Rodgers, PhD, CEC, RODP 
(SFI Vice Chair)

President and CEO, Habitat for Humanity Canada

Bettina Ring
(SFI Secretary-Treasurer)
State Forester, Virginia Department of Forestry
Steve Bullard
Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Henry M. Rockwell Chair of Forestry
Stephen F. Austin State University
Dr. Skeet (A.G.) Burris
Family forest landowner
Bob Matters
Chair, United Steelworkers Union of Canada Wood Council
Charles Tattersall (Tat) Smith, Jr.
Former Dean and Professor
Faculty of Forestry, University of Toronto
Craig Blair (SFI Chair)

President and CEO, Resource Management Service LLC
Craig Armstrong
President and CEO, Millar Western Forest Products Ltd.
Daniel P. Christensen
Chairman of Hancock Natural Resource Group Board of Directors
Guy Gleysteen
Senior Vice President, Time Inc.
Jim Hannan
CEO and President, Georgia-Pacific

Chief David Walkem

Chief of the Cooks Ferry Indian Band, Merritt, British Columbia, and President Stuwix Resources Joint Venture